Quick Update on Reading Order

Posted January 23, 2016 by Julie in reading order / 0 Comments

Quick Update on Reading Order

JA Huss

What is the reading order for your books?

The number one question I get is “What is the reading order of your books?” Well, in a nutshell, because I only have about ten minutes to write this as I enjoy my coffee, here it is. (You can find all my books on Amazon, Nook, iTunes, and KOBO using those links to my respective author pages.)
The Rook & Ronin series is about a girl who escaped an abusive relationship and ended up in Denver, Colorado where she gets an offer of a lifetime. A chance encounter or a twist of fate lands her in the studio of internationally famous photographer, Antoine Chaput, who is looking for a model to headline his new project called Tragic. If Rook is anything, she knows she is Tragic. She gets the job, meets Antoine’s nephew, Ronin, and her life starts spinning out of control as the money pours in and her past comes back to haunt her.
While Rook is modeling she meets enigmatic biker/body art painter/reality show star, Spencer Shrike, and reality show producer and all-around asshole, Ford Aston. Both of whom happen to be old friends with Ronin and have secrets of their own.
The three books in this series (which must be read in order) are Tragic, Manic, and Panic.
Ford Aston and Spencer Shrike then have two spin-off books, one novella and one full-length novel each.
Those four books are Slack, Taut, Bomb, and Guns.



If you’re going to read about Rook & Ronin and friends, start with Tragic and read all the way through.
My second series is Dirty, Dark, and Deadly which includes Come, Come Back, and Coming For You. This introduced a character from Guns, James Fenici, and his unorthodox career as an assassin for a secret shadow government called The Company. Sometimes people refer to this series as “The Come Series” or The Company Books” They are all the same thing.
DDD series also introduces Harper, another casualty of The Company, and who is on the run from her father, who heads the organization. And Sasha Cherlin, who made a cameo appearance in Slack with Ford Aston, and who also has a starring role in Come Back and Coming For You as a twelve-year-old Company Assassin.


So you can start with Come and not miss much, but if you start with Tragic and read all the way through, you will get Sasha’s back story.
James also has an insane assassin friend called Merc (who is also a friend of Ford’s) who plays a side role in Slack, Guns, Come Back, and Coming For You.
Merc’s book picks up where Coming For You leaves off, but years later, and it’s called Meet Me In The Dark. I always include a WARNING IN CAPITAL LETTERS for MMITD because Merc is not a hero for everyone. So be careful if you start that book and don’t know what you’re getting in to.
You can read MMITD as a standalone, but you have to be willing to put the puzzle pieces together.


Sasha Cherlin, fun, crazy, killing-machine kid from Slack and the DDD series, then gets her own book, also years later (it takes place after Meet Me In The Dark) and tries to put the life of a company killer behind her and make her way through grad school. Her book is called Wasted Lust and can be read as a standalone, but again, if you read any of the other books, save this one for after Meet Me In The Dark.



I also have standalone books like 321, Sexy, and 18. 321 has some crossover into Wasted Lust, but not much. So you can read that first and not miss anything, or read it after Wasted Lust and not miss anything. Sexy and 18 are singles and have no crossover.


Finally, there is the Happily Ever After book called Happily Ever After, that chronicles a day in the life of Rook & Ronin and friends on Christmas Eve. This book should be read after Guns or Wasted Lust, and occurs fifteen years after Guns.


Anarchy Found is the first in a four book spin-off series of standalone novels that chronicles the lives of three supervillain Alphas in my action-packed erotic superhero romance series. All these books feature one couple and do not have a cliffhanger. There is science fiction and sex in these books, so be aware of that. I have a whole website devoted to this series that can be found here.
The Social Media series is about a self-proclaimed Twitter Queen who stalks a movie star with dirty tweets until he finally comes face to face with while on vacation. Sexy times ensue and things heat up almost immediately.
It was originally released as a series of six novellas, but is now available in two long novels. Books 1-3 are called Social and books 4-6 are called Media.
If this wasn’t enough, I also have a complete new adult science fiction series called I Am Just Junco which consists of five novels and one novella, or two omnibus editions, one called I Am Just Junco, and one called I Am Not Junco. This series is not romance but it has romantic elements and is basically about a sniper (Junco) who meets a guy with wings, finds out she might be one of them, kills a shitload of people, suffers a lot of loss, and then ends up being used as a weapon against an alien invasion.



If you’re confused, see the card below and save it to your phone, iPad, or hard drive to look later. 🙂 OK, my coffee break is over and I have to get back to writing. Stay tuned for a huge celebration to mark the first anniversary of the New York Times bestselling book, Three, Two, One this week. I will have a ton of prizes to give away! <3
You can find all my books on Amazon, Nook, iTunes, and KOBO using those links to my respective author pages.)

updated_2016folded business cards_inside


About JA Huss

JA Huss is the New York Times Bestselling author of 321 and has been on the USA Today Bestseller’s list 21 times in the past five years. She writes characters with heart, plots with twists, and perfect endings.

Her new sexy sci-fi romance and paranormal romance pen name is KC Cross and she writes novels and teleplays collaboratively with actor and screenwriter, Johnathan McClain.

Her books have sold millions of copies all over the world, the audio version of her semi-autobiographical book, Eighteen, was nominated for a Voice Arts Award and an Audie Award in 2016 and 2017 respectively. Her audiobook, Mr. Perfect, was nominated for a Voice Arts Award in 2017. Her audiobook, Taking Turns, was nominated for an Audie Award in 2018. Five of her book were optioned for a TV series by MGM television in 2018. And her book, Total Exposure, was nominated for a RITA Award in 2019.

She lives on a ranch in Central Colorado with her family.

Please follow and like us:

Tags: , , , , , ,